The Graduate

It’s been a year to the day since I graduated from the University of Nottingham. Life has changed a lot in these last 12 months, much more so than I could have ever predicted.

I never really knew exactly where I would be at this point, one year out of university, but where I am now feels right, even if it’s not what I wanted 52 weeks ago.

Above all else, I’m happy (mostly). Well, not especially happy right now but that will pass. Even so, there’s a little bit of me which is wary of this happiness, as in the past things have often nosedived right at the point when they were going so well. But I do know that all I can do, and all I will do, is to enjoy the ride while it lasts.

I started writing this post a good few months ago in anticipation of this anniversary, and I really didn’t have any particular expectations for its content. In fact, I don’t really know what to tell you now. I moved to London, I began an internship which led to a full time job, I’ve met a lot of wonderful new people. I’ve put myself out there a lot more and learnt a lot about myself in the process, and I guess that’s what it all boils down to.

I also guess, ultimately, that it’s all about bravery. I think that’s the overriding theme from the last 12 months. That might sound dramatic, but when I look back on everything, bravery is the thread weaving each day, week and month together. Or perhaps we can call it courage. Either way, I think it takes bravery to cut poisonous people out of your life, to apply for that job, to deal with the rug being pulled out from under your feet, to admit that you’re struggling, to handle reemerging old flames with dignity, to stick it out when you’re unhappy, to jump ship when you’re unhappy, to reply to that message, to ignore that message, to reject that offer, to accept that offer, to go on that first date, to break things off, to realise things aren’t working, and to make a change.

I’m probably making it sound like it’s been a tumultuous year, and I suppose it has in some ways. But I’ve had much, much worse times than anything the last 52 weeks have presented me.

To be brave is to live. And to live is to be confronted with challenges every now and then. Would I change anything about the last year since graduation? No, because it’s led me to where I am now. It’s all part of the journey, whatever that means.

We’ll see what the 2 year anniversary will hold.

Charlotte x

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Graduate

    1. Ahh, congratulations on finishing uni, Tash! Quite a milestone. And thank you, I’m glad you like it 🙂 I’ll keep an eye out for your post- it’s quite a funny time, I know I’m still figuring everything out so I look forward to reading your thoughts! C x

Leave a Reply

