Blogging and Balance

That snowed under feeling- a lot of us have had it. When you’re just trying to keep your head above the water and make it from one end of the day to the other.

Ever since I started working in London back in November, I’ve felt like this on a few occasions. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job and, fortunately enough, I usually look forward to getting to work every day, but my days are long and tiring. My alarm goes off at 5.15am, and shortly after 7am I’m on a Southwest Train to Waterloo. If I leave work on time I will normally get back home at around 7.30pm.

I don’t usually have time or the inclination to check Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or my WordPress stats during the day- I’m just too busy. My nose is kept to the grindstone pretty much from when I sit down at my desk to when I leave it, and as such, blogging has had to take something of a backseat.

I thought this would probably happen. In fact, I knew it had to. I’m not in the position where I earn a wage I can live on through blogging- not even close. But that’s ok. I never expected to make blogging my primary source of income, and I’m glad that I have my income, my job and my colleagues and friends in London.

This is where balance comes in. I’ve recently been feeling a little guilty that I haven’t been as active on The Brezel Diaries and social media as I previously was. For me, I know I have to accept that my priorities have changed and that, while I still love blogging and writing in general, I can’t compare myself or the frequency of my posts with others. Judging myself based on other people’s actions or achievements is the least productive thing I could do.

We all have very different lives and priorities, that much is certain, and so I know that there will come a time when I feel more able to sit down and finish off a few blog posts in one day, just as I used to. But for now, I’m giving myself a bit of a break. I don’t mean that I won’t be blogging, I just mean that I’m being easier on myself. I’m listening to my head, my heart and my body and I’m making sure to keep myself sane. I think that’s really the only way I can explain it.

I know I’m not the only one who feels like this- I can’t be.

I suppose it all comes in waves. Pressure, busyness and stress ebb and flow, and so I know I will be back on top (ish) form soon. But right now, I need to take a step back, reassess, and clear my mind.

Or, to put it a different way, I just need to stop and smell the roses. Maybe that’s what blogging and balance really is.

Charlotte x

Leave a Reply

