What’s in the box? Birchbox November 2015

Part of the fun of subscription boxes is that you just don’t know what you’re going to get. This can go either way; you can be pleasantly surprised or a little disappointed.

I’m sad to say that I opened this month’s Birchbox and felt more of the latter than the former. So, let’s have a look at what’s inside:

November Birchbox OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do have to say that the box is beautiful. Subscribers will receive either a light blue or a purple box with a shell design. This light blue one is understated but very pretty.

So, on to the products:

REN Wake Wonderful Nighttime Facial OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wake Wonderful Night-Time Facial by REN

I like REN as a brand, but I haven’t yet come across one of their products which has turned me into a devoted fan. This Night-Time Facial has a lovely, almost orangey scent, but I can’t say that I noticed any particular difference when I woke up this morning. Perhaps it works better on different skin types. In any case, I’ll try it again to see if it does make a difference.

Edit- I’ve used it twice since the first application, and I’ve noticed that it does leave my skin quite soft in the morning. As yet there are no visible differences. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Silhouette Neutral Lip Liner by Lord & Berry

This really is neutral! This may be the most useful of all the products in November’s box. It’s a translucent lip liner which can be used with any colour lipstick due to its neutrality.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It seems to have very good staying power and is very small and easy to transport, but I did find it a bit drying. That said, it kept my lipstick in place last night, so there’s a chance it might make a permanent addition to the makeup bag. Time will tell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cow Pat Hand Cream by Cowshed

I really like Cowshed products, but I can’t quite put my finger on what I don’t like about this scent. It’s an unusual blend of grapefruit and coriander, and while it does smell nice, it’s not really my kind of scent.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lumiere d’Hiver Super Comb Prep & Protect by Number 4

I was disappointed to see this in the box. I picked up this little product back in September when I went to Selfridges to make up my own Birchbox, and seeing it again feels a little like there were lots of bottles left over so they decided to include this in the November edition. I haven’t used it since September as I didn’t find it as good as the product I was already using, so I’m pretty sure I’ll end up giving it away.

I know not everyone will have been to Selfridges and chosen this, but for those of us who did, it feels like an unimaginative addition to the box.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creme Acquaconfort by Delarom

I have never come across Delarom before, but this formula doesn’t suit my skin type at all and feels a bit greasy. It does, however, dry to a softer finish, so I will try it under my makeup and report back.

Edit- horrendous under makeup if you’ve got oily skin. Don’t do it. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Grab & Go Ponytail Holder by L.Erickson

This was labelled as a ‘beauty treat’ in the box, and it did make me smile when I saw that the tag said ‘It’s Hot Outside’ on it…I know it’s hot in some places in November, but the UK certainly isn’t one of them! šŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have to say though, this little hair tie being labelled as a ‘beauty treat’ was the final straw for me. While the good thing about it is that there’s no metal on it at all, so it won’t damage hair, I’m not sure if it’s special enough to drag me away from my beloved Invisibobble. By this I mean the beloved Invisibobble which came in a pack of three in my September Glossybox. It’s very difficult not to compare the two brands, and I think Glossybox has won every single month.

When first writing this, I was conscious that I might sound a little ungrateful, but then I remembered that I’m actually paying for this. This isn’t being given to me for free. It’s not a gift. It’s a subscription box I pay for which I have been underwhelmed by almost every time.

I’m torn between seeing if the December/Christmas box will be any better, or just cutting off my subscription now. Fortunately I’ve got a little longer to decide, but for now I’ll be looking up other bloggers to see if they felt the same way as me (a similar Twitter search last night would suggest they do), or if they see something in this month’s products which I clearly don’t.

So, what do you think? Were you underwhelmed too?

Charlotte x

12 thoughts on “What’s in the box? Birchbox November 2015

  1. Oh dear I’m sad to see you were disappointed! I guess this is the reason why I have not signed up to a monthly box – I think I just feel that I would rather buy something I know I love with the money every month šŸ™‚ – I can definitely see the appeal though for those who like surprises every month!
    Saira x
    throughtheglitterglass.wordpress.com
    x

    1. No risk, no fun I guess šŸ˜Š it’s just a bit of a shame, but it’s to be expected sometimes! Definitely a good idea to put the money towards something you know you’ll love šŸ˜Š xx

  2. I haven’t reviewed this month’s box yet but I feel completely the same about Birchbox at the moment. This month is actually a big improvement on last month’s for me but you’re right. We’re paying! I think I’m going to cancel, I was also ummming and ahhhing about sticking it out for December.
    X

    1. I’m glad you feel the same! I’m so torn about what to do haha. I think I might wait and see what kind of emails they send out about December’s edition and then take it from there. Do you get/have you ever tried Glossybox? So good! Xxx

      1. It is! They haven’t listened to our needs I don’t think! People with sensitive skin wouldn’t of liked what was in this months. I’m always a bit edgy trying skin Products at the best of times! Some good make up in next months would be good hopefully be better for Christmas! Do you subscribe to any other monthly boxes? Xx

      2. Definitely not! Oh no, not good for sensitive skin whatsoever. Mine’s oily and it was bad enough. Some decent makeup would be brilliant. I do indeed! I subscribe to Glossybox as well. I signed up to both at the same time to compare and Glossybox is the clear winner so far. What about you? Xx

      3. I have combination skin so I am really oily in some places but at this time of year my cheeks get so sore and dry it’s horrible! I am also signed up to glossybox! I think they’re better at the moment! I think it’s some months you have good stuff and then some months you have bad!
        I am signed up to the glitterati by crown and glory too if you love hair accessories and glitter it’s fab it’s the best subscription I have! And also lucky dip club! I’m a bit of a monthly box lover!nice to look forward to getting something nice in the post instead of bills!! Xx

Leave a Reply

