No 7 Beautifully Matte Foundation

If you’ve been reading The Brezel Diaries for a while, you’ll know that I’m always after skincare and beauty products which accommodate my oily/combination/nightmare skin.

Well, a few months ago I posted about the brilliant Smashbox foundation and primer I had bought, which I still love, but in the pursuit of a foundation which matches my skin much better and doesn’t break the bank, I turned to Boots’ No 7 for the first time.

I can’t be the only one who gets those No 7 vouchers at the till at Boots, only for them to lie lost and unused at the bottom of my bag (really ought to sort that out). But, for the first time I thought I’d give the brand a try.

Introducing No 7’s Beautifully Matte Foundation:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At £13.50, I can’t really complain at all. Plus, I got a chance to try out No 7’s Match Made service for the first time (remember from the ads where they use that little device to find your ‘true’ colour match?). It’s the little things.

As it turns out, my true colour match is Calico, which I believe is the lightest shade available. I wouldn’t say it’s 100% perfect, but it’s a much, much better match than the lightest Smashbox shade.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As for its performance as a foundation? It’s grown on me. Quite significantly, actually. The coverage is soft but medium/full as described, and it’s definitely buildable. However, I wouldn’t say by any stretch of the imagination that it lasts ‘shine free’ for 14 hours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like it a lot, but it doesn’t quite have the staying power of more expensive formulas. That said, I will keep using it for all the wonderful qualities it does have. It doesn’t feel heavy or look cakey, nor does it dry out my skin, as so many products for oily complexions do.

IMG_8616

All in all, I think No 7 have come up with a winner here, even if it doesn’t fulfill all of the qualities it promises.

I have to say though, for my first foray into the world of No 7, I’m impressed. I would definitely recommend trying it, or at least trying to get your hands on a sample from the counter at Boots.

What’s your favourite foundation for oily skin?

Charlotte x

 

2 thoughts on “No 7 Beautifully Matte Foundation

  1. Thanks for this great post. I have oily and sensitive skin and am always trying to find a suitable foundation. I tried this one by No 7 a few years ago and felt similarly to you. I now use Estée Lauder Double Wear light foundation which I find quite effective, although I still get shiny later in the day.

Leave a Reply

