Review: Hotter Shipley Kilties & Nicola Heels

Hello again! It’s been a little while since my last post but you might remember this post, where I talked about the Hotter event in Winchester. Well, I wanted to give you a much better look at the shoes my mum and I were very kindly allowed to choose on the evening!

Also- I HAVE A HOTTER DISCOUNT CODE FOR YOU! The code and details will be at the bottom of this post.

So just to rewind a little bit, here I am on the evening trying on the Shipley Kilties shortly before falling in love with them…

…and here’s my mum (well, her legs) trying on the Nicola Heels.

And here are the two pairs of shoes together!

Let’s take a closer look at Nicola first. They come in black, navy and burgundy suede and are priced at £85.

My mum chose them in black, and every time she’s put them on she always says how comfortable they are, so it’s another success story from Hotter! As you can see, they have a really beautiful, delicate floral lining and elasticated fastenings across the front of the shoes, This allows the shoes to expand to the width and movement of your feet, so they really provide a personalised, flexible fit.

The oversize buttons have a real vintage vibe about them, and my mum and I think these heels would be perfect for any vintage-themed occasions, such as Goodwood Revival, as well as any formal occasions in the upcoming winter months.

At about 2.5 inches, the heel isn’t too high at all, and due to its width it allows the weight of the wearer to be spread a little more evenly, so there’s much less pressure focused on one narrow point on the heel.

The beauty of having the round toe on these shoes is space. Unlike other high heels, they don’t pinch your toes and have plenty of wiggle room for comfort.

My mum said she would be most likely to wear them with a dress or skirt and black tights, and although she wasn’t too keen on being photographed for the blog, she was more than happy to have the photos below published. Although you can’t see the whole outfit, you get the impression that these heels round off a cold-weather party look beautifully.

So, now we’re onto my Shipley Kilties!

These lovely flats come in black, tan, dark brown and flint, and are priced at £79. They simply slip on and have a 1.25 inch heel. As you would expect, you can feel the difference in the construction of these as soon as you sleep your feet in as they feel supportive, cushioned and sturdy. I don’t think I could love them more than I already do.

Although traditionally a man’s shoe, these ladies’ Kilties have feminine aspects in their design, most specifically the bow with tassels on each shoe. ‘Man tailoring’ has been a key feature not only in shoes and accessories, but also coats, jackets and shirts in recent seasons, and their classic looks mean that they will remain a wardrobe staple for a long time to come.

I chose black because I wanted shoes which would go with many of my existing items of clothing, but if I had had to pick a second colour, I would have chosen the dark brown pair- they were lovely too! For a little contrasting pop of brightness, the insoles are a gorgeous dark purple, and you can see the where the cushioned panels have been sewn in.

The soles are flexible and strong, meaning that they move with my feet, rather than against them. I wore these during a long trade show which involved standing, walking and talking all day, and for the first time at one of those shows my feet didn’t suffer.

Below you can see one of the dresses I would wear with these shoes (it’s an old-ish dress from Hobbs), but they’re so easy to dress up as well as down. I apologise for my face in this…it wasn’t a very photogenic day!

So, thank you again Hotter for two beautiful pairs of shoes! We love them, and what we love even more is that this particular Hotter collection has something for everyone, no matter your age or style. It transcends generations, and I really love the thought that while I’m wearing Hotter shoes, so is my mum, and so are my two grandmothers. Having a Hotter Moment is all about experiencing the comfort of the shoes for the first time, and in our case we’re having a Hotter Family Moment- I can’t thank you enough for that!

Charlotte x

HOTTER 10% DISCOUNT CODE: PNDTEN

Valid until 24th December 2015.

The code entitles readers of The Brezel Diaries to 10% off and free P&P on their first order with Hotter.  (Terms and conditions: 10% off plus FREE delivery is for first orders only. You are entitled to 10% off the total order value of any full priced items in the Hotter range (excluding shoe care products) plus FREE delivery. This offer cannot be used in conjunction with any other promotional offer or on Sale or Factory Clearance items and gift vouchers.)

*In the interest of full disclosure: we were given the opportunity to choose a pair of shoes each for the purpose of an honest review. There has been no payment for this post, and all thoughts are honest and our own.

Click to visit Hotter’s website, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook pages.

3 thoughts on “Review: Hotter Shipley Kilties & Nicola Heels

Leave a Reply

