What’s in the box? Birchbox September 2015

So, three beauty box posts in a row…#sorrynotsorry.

Following my lovely experience of Birchbox at Selfridges, I decided to order the monthly box to see how the usual Birchbox shapes up!

Given Birchbox’s American roots, this special 5th Birchday edition contained products from across the pond. So, what’s in the box?

Unfortunately, I have yet to try all of the products, but here’s a little run down of my first monthly Birchbox:

Best Hair Day Brush by Birchbox

This is such a handy little brush, and is small enough to fit in my handbag as well as bright enough that I’ll actually be able to find it among the mountains of receipts I cart around.

Beauty Wash by Beauty Protector

I recognised this little bottle straightaway, having almost chosen it at the Birchbox at Selfridges counter. I had no idea that Beauty Protector is exclusive to Birchbox, so I look forward to discovering more of their products soon.

Citrus Neroli Detangler by John Masters Organics

My little heart jumped for joy when I saw this product. I have coloured, heat-damaged, unruly, curly, frizzy, knotty hair, and this seems like it’ll go a long way to helping restore my best feature to its former glory. It contains my favourite ever ingredient, coconut oil, which is already famous for its restorative properties.

Cheeky Lip Pencil in Cray-Cray by Laqa & Co

Again, I recognised this brand from Selfridges, and was so glad to see it in this month’s box as I love chunky lip pencils like this. They’re both low maintenance and high impact, and this particular pencil comes in a beautifully bright orange shade. here’s a little swatch of the colour:

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant by Paula’s Choice 

Another new brand, and I’m officially intrigued. The instructions for this exfoliator says not to rinse, which goes against almost everything that I know in terms of exfoliating! It promises clear, calm, oil-free skin in no time, which sounds a little too good to be true, but I’ll need to find out for myself.

The POREfessional: License to Blot by Benefit

Ah, Benefit. How do I love thee? Well, more ways than worth counting if you can sort out my shiny skin. I know that I’ll be grateful for my oily skin and its preserving properties when I’m older, but right now it’s annoying and makes me look almost permanently sweaty. Not ideal.

I tried this blotting stick almost as soon as I got it, and I have to say, despite the instructions, I would not recommend using it directly over makeup. For me, it just took off the makeup I’d applied. That said, I will try it again as more of a base to see how it shapes up in the mattifying stakes. Watch this space.

So, quite a mix of products, but lovely for my first proper Birchbox. Here’s hoping that October’s box contains some sort of Halloween item! Fingers crossed!

Charlotte x

Leave a Reply

