NARS Audacious Mascara

Although I have a bit of a wandering eye when it comes to beauty products, I keep crawling back to my old faithful Rimmel Volume Flash x 10 mascara time and time again. For me, the true test of a good mascara is if it can break this 10 year love affair of mine, which no mascara has so far managed to do.

Well…it’s safe to say that my wandering eye has returned.

If you’ve visited the Space.NK website lately, then you might have seen that they’re offering a free sample of the new NARS Audacious Mascara on orders over £30. So, this was how I came across this mascara, and why I wanted to review it for you!

The mascara comes in the beautifully rich black shade ‘Black Moon’ and is packaged in a gorgeous silky matte black, with a red top at one end. The brush itself is also red, which gives a really polished, elegant look to this product.

As for application, the tapered end of the brush allows for reaching the smaller eyelashes in the corners of the eye very easily. What’s more, and what I really loved about this mascara, is that the way the brush is designed means that the lashes are separated as you apply the mascara, which makes it really easy to build up coverage.

In fact, this seems to be what NARS hopes sets Audacious apart from other mascaras. The ‘Lash-Catching’ brush, as they call it, has ‘over 200 moulded quills and lengthening hooks‘ which promise to ‘separate, lengthen and amplify with every stroke.’ Having used it, I was impressed. You can see my comparison photo below, followed by a photo of the mascara on both eyes.

Warning, I look a little cross-eyed in these. Clearly my selfie game leaves a lot to be desired.

  Before application, I curled my lashes with the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler. I’ve used this for a year or so and will probably never use any other eyelash curler again.

I was so pleased with the results of the Audacious mascara, and was happy that it didn’t flake at all while I was wearing it. However, it’s definitely not water-proof, so it’s probably best not to swim/break up with anyone/watch The Notebook while wearing it. Unless Panda eyes are your thing, in which case go right ahead.

So, will this be my new partner in crime in mascara form? That remains to be seen, but we’re definitely off to a good start.

Charlotte x

NARS Audacious Mascara is priced at £21 and is available from 8th September 2015 on Space.NK’s official website.

One thought on “NARS Audacious Mascara

Leave a Reply

