#100happydays: 91-100: Trainers, Chocolate and Travel (again)

Moin Moin meine Lieben,

I know it’s been a little while since I last blogged, and I can only give the age-old excuse that I’ve been very busy. You have to have a life to be able to blog about it, after all… 🙂

So, here is the final instalment of my #100happydays challenge, with a little evaluation at the end. Enjoy!

Day 91

BlnbRj8IUAAZ8TH

While I was home for Easter I spent my Saturday morning parkrun volunteer tail running with my lovely Mum at Frimley Lodge parkrun (if you don’t know about parkrun, look it up- it’s a great thing). I’m the one with the big feet out of the two of us. And my laces are still done up…I know, I know.

That afternoon I headed to Godalming for a BBQ with some of my favourites, and then went to see Noah with my Dad and brother in the evening. Not too shabby, as Saturdays go!

Day 92

Day 92 was of course Easter Sunday! We spent it surrounded by family, and it was perfect. There was a fair amount of chocolate involved as well…it would’ve been rude not to.

Bls2decIAAAS3d-

Day 93

This was my last full day in the green and pleasant land for a little while.

BlxyuO7IcAAkUsL

Day 94

Back in the Fatherland once more for my final month as an assistant! I arrived back in Hamburg fully stocked up on tea 🙂

Bl26_ySIYAEApOS

Day 95

From a particularly grim morning to a beautiful evening (and a cheeky little Pilates session thrown in).

Bl7h2LvIcAAOjkt

Day 96

Got my new training plan for the gym! Judging by how difficult it was to climb the stairs to my flat after the session, it definitely works.

BmBEamWIMAADe4w

Day 97

I spent most of this day in a hectic and frantic state, trying to sort my life out before setting off for a few days on my next adventure!

BmF5MLkIEAEehsp

Day 98

Welcome to Prague! Just as beautiful as everyone said it would be, and equally as crowded. I was fairly sunburnt, but happy nonetheless.

BmLQgVoIEAASjLN

Also, I was a little achey and decided to don my rather stylish calf compression tights…I did get a few (undoubtedly admiring) looks.

BmH82A2IYAA-BJu

Also I was incredibly proud that I managed to fit everything in my little suitcase. If you know me well, then you’ll know this is a pretty big deal.

BmIBbi-IgAE_y8Y

(it’s overhead locker size. Boom.)

Day 99

My only full day in wonderful Prague.

BmQfR2wIMAAwesk

Day 100

If you’d told me that I’d be completing my #100happydays challenge in Lithuania, of all places, I would’ve laughed at you. I’d probably still be laughing. In fact, I hadn’t even heard of Vilnius when I started the photo-a-day back in January. But, it certainly exceeded all expectations. Utterly beautiful city.

BmVIWOyIQAAsnJu

Also lived the life in the transfer lounge in Riga. Technically means I’ve been to Latvia, too. Technically.

Having finished this challenge about two weeks ago now, I do actually miss it. It forces you, even during some really rubbish days (and trust me, there’s been no shortage of those since I started this back in January) to try and pick at least one thing which sent a bright spark across your otherwise ordinary or gloomy day. I’ve certainly tweeted a lot less since it ended, but I’ve still continued the habit of photographing things that make me happy during the day, even if I don’t publically broadcast them.

During the 100 days I visited Hannover, Luebeck, Kiel (although the less said about that, the better), Bremen, Oslo, Stockholm, Helsinki, Bavaria, Innsbruck and some of northern Austria, Brussels, England ❤ (twice, no less), Prague and Vilnius. That’s not to say that you have to spend money for this challenge to work for you; those were just trips I was fortunate enough to be able to go on at this time. 18 flights in two months isn’t something I’d recommend though, it messes your body clock up just a little bit and puts a fairly significant dent in your bank balance (although I did manage to find some decent deals. Endless googling is key).

Over the 100 days I began exercising regularly again, which was something I mentally hadn’t been able to do for about 7 months. I rediscovered my love for drawing and painting, I went exploring, I started my first novel (haven’t exactly progressed far with that though…been busy), I’ve met some wonderful new people, laughed more than I have done in a while, and I’ve learnt a lot about myself along the way.

I learnt that I’m ok with my own company when I feel that’s what I need. After all, you have to be ok with yourself before you can be ok with anyone else, I certainly believe that.

All that from a ‘photo a day’ challenge. Not bad. Not bad at all.

Mach’s gut!

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

